Dance with Me! Sway with Me!

One of my projects for my ECMP 355 class is to learn something new using only the internet. I sat and pondered all the many things I would like to learn but haven’t gotten around to  doing yet, such as cake decorating, sewing, how to play the guitar, photography/ photo shop and the list goes on, but I wanted something different. So I got to thinking a little bit more and it came to me! My husband and I have been together for 5.5 years and we’ve always talked about learning how to ballroom dance together. However, we live in a smaller city center where ballroom dance classes aren’t offered and the nearest larger city is 2 hours away. Between my husband working full time, me working part time, attending school part time and being a mother we never really get to spend much time together, so I figured this would be a great way for us to be guaranteed a little us time together over the next few months 🙂

After finally convincing my husband that learning to dance with me would be a great experience, my next step was to research what kind of ballroom dance or dances we want to learn. I never knew there were so many different dances and that they are categorized into so many subsections! There’s Ballroom Standard and Smooth which would be dances such as the waltz and foxtrot. There’s also your Latin and Rhythm dances which include styles like the Rumba, the Cha Cha and Salsa. There’s Swing Dancing which includes the East and West Coast Swing and the Lindy Hop. And there are many others. To learn more about the different styles and for better descriptions and definitions check out this websitehttp://www.dancewellballroom.com/BallroomDancingClassesandLessons/DanceStyles/#.VgTTDxFViko

So after researching a few of the different styles and watching youtube videos of dance performances (I could spend hours doing that) we decided on the Waltz! It is such an elegant and sophisticated dance and I thought it would be beautiful to learn! Our second choice was the Rumba and if we find ourselves to be excellent students and fast learners we will try to learn the Rumba as well. So stay tuned for my next update when we will take to the dance floor AKA the living room to learn the first steps in the Waltz!

Before I sign off check out this beautifully choreographed waltz! I doubt we will ever be this good, but hey a girl can dream can’t she?!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k6RrVoOn7oo

5 thoughts on “Dance with Me! Sway with Me!

  1. Pingback: A Lesson in Waltz | chelseydriedger

  2. What a great way to spend time with someone! I think that learning and growing together also builds strong relationships! My partner and I are considering taking classes next year when he moves back here (he’s in Saskatoon for school) maybe if your project goes well I will have more confidence and gumption in my own dancing which at the present moment leaves lots to be desired!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Au Revoir | chelseydriedger

Leave a Reply

